on the edge of the world…

Photo by H

Bali offers many things to tourists, and much embarrassment to me as an Australian traveler. We are staying right in the haert of Kuta and the amount of times I have heard ‘I’m gonna punch you in the nuts,’ ‘Oi mate can I have a fag in here,’ or ‘FFS you’se all are totes annoying eh…’ screamed at the top of the lungs of some Australian traveler, holding a can of Bintang, braided beaded hair and donning the good ole Bintang wife beater… are too many to count.

Being that as it may, Bali has a lot more to offer than cheap beer, cheap night clubs and cheap tacky souvenirs. It is a beautiful island and to escape the madness that surrounds Kuta, H and I hired a bike and went down the coast.

Yesterday afternoon, just before the sun was about to set I stood on the edge of the island of Bali, next to a temple, and breathed the fresh salt air that reminds me of home, both my Indonesian home and my Australian home. It doesn’t take much to find perfection. It just takes a quiet moment in a beautiful place with someone special.

The Pura Luhur Uluwatu temple stands on the SW tip of the island of Bali and is designed to protect the island from evil spirits trying to enter from that direction. it is famous for its cheeky monkeys and spectacular views of the ocean.

Perched on a high cliff, above with nothing but sparkling blue water in front of you and ancient history under your feet, there really is no better place to find a moment to just exist in this busy world.

For a moment all was still, all was silent, it was me, the edge of the cliff and the crashing water beneath me. Life was simple then. Purpose was clear.

Barefoot, finding quiet in Bali.

Leave a Reply

