the weirdest salon in the world…

Having a facial is supposed to be a relaxing, cleansing experience. But at the little street side salon that B and I walked into on Friday afternoon, the motto was quite different.

After living in a village with no hot water, it is really nice to every now and again treat yourself to a facial, to remove the dirt and sand and dust that gets clogged in your skin with no escape. I was never a pamper-myself kind of girl. But at $5 a pop… how can one refuse?

All I really wanted was to purge my skin from all the toxins, I wanted them to pick and poke and scrub until I was fresh and clean. Man, was I in for a surprise!

I was told to lay down on a couch in the middle of the room. A couch that was not long enough, nor comfortable enough to relax on. Then the facial began. I was scrubbed, the top of my head, not my face, was steamed, and then I was scrubbed again. During all of this I could hear B, who was having a manicure and pedicure, making little noises in pain and saying things to me like ‘why on earth is she filing the sides of my fingers instead of my nails?’

Then unbeknownst to me, as I was desperately attempting to keep my eyes closed. I became the centre of an advertising photo shoot. I was being filmed from a handicam and my photo was being taken as I had my face scrubbed. The lady, lets not go so far as to call her a beautician, was posing with her hands on my face. This went on for the better part of an hour, and by this point B was in hysterics, with bleeding cuticals, rough jagged nails and very smooth, filed fingers.

After applying a mask and getting distracted by a soap opera, my ‘beautician’ disappeared into the television and was never to return. I had to ask another lady to remove my mask for me, trying not to laugh, I paid the very kind ladies the money and B and I emerged back onto the hot artsy streets of Yogya, a little wiser, a little cleaner, but not really cleansed.

We went to hire a bike and I was to discover the fun and fear that is driving a motorbike in a big Asian city. It’s quite a rush.

Barefoot avoided pedicure from hell, probably for the best.

Leave a Reply

