Is it Saturday already?

Is it really Saturday? I guess so. I seemed to have misplaced the past few days. I looked around to see if I could find them, but it’s become clear to me that they are gone.

I’m sick. I’ve been sick for about three days now at varying degrees, my body has been so kind as to give me a range of different illnesses and symptoms so that I won’t get bored. And I am so very grateful… (can you hear the sarcasm?). This was not exactly how I’d planned to spend the end of my last week here before jetting back to Aus for a bit…

So there is little to report. I’ve done a whole lot of self pitying, a lot of coughing, a pile of sneezing and a lot of sweating it out under a ceiling fan watching movies.

hermit crabs

The highlights have been – a small hermit crab that wandered into our house (with his tiny legs all the way from the beach) and then climbed a tree to get out… whodathunkit? A giant spotted gecko that watched me on a walk to the bathroom one night… The smell of salt on my skin… That sunkissed smell that clean sheets have when they come off the line… it’s the little things when you feel like this that make the day go a little faster…

There are no updates on the curious case of the bather bottom theif. It’ll be one for the history books I think. But the maggots seem to have subsided. Only one falls every couple of days now, and no one can seem to figure out why. I don’t know. I’d just like it to be done with.

A side note: There is something living in the roof above the bedroom – a squirrel? A bird? Both? Sometimes it sounds like a lot of baby squirrels, sometimes I swear I can hear the flapping of wings. Anyway. As long as they eat the maggots and don’t fall on me in the middle of the night… we will get along just fine.

And that’s about the extent of excitement that’s been happening around here.

But I’m all dosed up on some holy basil tablets that we got in India last year, and some local cough tablet, and it seems to be doing the trick. I actually feel like I could do something now.

Tomorrow is my last day in BK… for a couple of weeks. On Monday I’ll do the  1 hour, 5am ride to Pangadaran, and then the 7 hour bus to Bandung, then the 2 hour flight to Bali… then a night in Bali with Sophie, try to get a little gift shopping in and then the 4 hour flight back to Perth… where I will arrive exhausted… but arrive none the less on tuesday evening… to spend some time with the family and catch up with the friends I haven’t seen in a long long time. It’s been a year since I was in Perth… how time does fly…

Well, I’m finally hungry again. Might go and get myself a serve of cumi-cumi, nasi, capcay and lemon teh to bring the universe back into order.

Leave a Reply

