rain and a chilli overdose…

* I just discovered that this blog didn’t post… so here it is… a little out of order…*

December 29th.

So, as of today, I’ve been in Batu Karas for 1 week and I’m already losing track of time. The days just blend together at the moment, a combination of naps, sunshine, rain and a little work here and there just for good measure.

We drove out to Pangadaran yesterday, it’s the closest proper town to our village and it’s about a 45 minute drive around the coast. We stopped at this little restaurant for lunch, where we ordered some very spicy fish and ate it in a little bamboo hut sitting on a mat on the floor. A spectacular view across the rice feilds… I’ve come to the realisation though, after 24 hours of stomach pains, that perhaps my taste buds have adjusted to the food here faster than my stomach has. My god, the food was delicious, but no more than five minutes after eating some of the best chilli fish – served whole… in the world… my stomach started to scream at me… oh dear. It made the rest of the ride to Pangadaran a little scary as I didn’t know if or when i was going to explode…

Anyway. We made it there without any major dramas and had a look around, stopped for a beer and then on the way back got some of the most amazing (fattening) desert that I have ever seen let alone eaten in my life. I can’t for the life of me remember what it was called… but it was basically a soft white bread/cake that is smothered in butter, covered in chocolate, layered with cheese then another piece of bread smothered in butter. Oh my lord. As I ate it butter dripped down my hands and melted cheese and cocolate exploded into the most delicious sensation in my mouth the combination of salty butter, dark sweet chocolate and cheesy goodness. I’m pretty sure I gained at least 4 kilos from it though..

There was more to this post that didn’t get saved… can’t remember what it was though… never mind… I think it was a story about a gecko falling on my head and kids with guns… something about getting soaked in a downpour and almost having to wear a jumper… something about the clear blue water and the dark clouds… something about food… another day though… I’m sure it’ll all happen again!

xx

Comments
One Response to “rain and a chilli overdose…”
  1. Jessica says:

    Just stumbled onto your blog through lonely planet, it’s so well written that I’ve been enjoying backtracking through the months to read your stories. The dessert you describe here sounds like martabak (also known as terang bulan), so goood, but so bad for you at the same time!

Leave a Reply

